1992 gsr b-17

what internals should i go with on a turbo setup for the b-17? im new to the whole turbo world and just trying to figure out what i need to do to turbo my car… trying to keep it cheap… give me some ideas

Nothing at all. That’s def the cheapest solution.

what are your power goals?

i wanna get at least 300whp but at the most 350 i dunno for sure just lookin for some ideas

first do a leak down and cp test. it can be done on a stock block but i would atleast get arp rod bolts and head studs and a good tune

300whp can be done 350 is pushing it

im tearing the engine completely down and rebuilding replacing all seals and bearings and pistons… i spun a rod bearing is the reason for the rebuild

anyone else have any suggestions?

i think your better off to get a b18 block. as far as i know theres no choice in rods for the b17.

the piston choices are the same. 81mm bore.

if you spun a rod bearing, you’re going to be checking the crank yes? i would not use it, but that’s just me.

the cheapest solution imho, would be to just get some forged pistons, arp rod/main/head bolts/studs, new rings, and new seals/pumps/etc. stock rods are fine IF they aren’t damanged by the bearings spinning.

I would suggest that you go .25 or .40 over on the block to make sure your bore is stright and round.
The b17 rods are great but I wouldn’t count on them being reliable at 300-350 whp however, the stock pistons would do just fine at that whp level if you maintain the stock b17 low compresstion ratio.
Being that you spun a bearing, you should think about geting the block line bored and the crank checked, ballanced and micro polished.
-ronie.

[QUOTE=db2;2033336]I would suggest that you go .25 or .40 over on the block to make sure your bore is stright and round.
The b17 rods are great but I wouldn’t count on them being reliable at 300-350 whp however, the stock pistons would do just fine at that whp level if you maintain the stock b17 low compresstion ratio.