Replacing the an axle...DIY or Shop

My passenger CV joint is fubar. My question is how hard is it to replace the axle by yourself? Are any specialty tools req? I have replaced the discs and working on my brakes so Im not a complete novice but definatly no mechanic. I have a quote of $240 CDN to have it done at a shop.

Is that price with including the reman axle? Because that’s $195 USD which is really good price if parts are included. Then again it depends how much you trust the shop.

Anyway, next time search!

http://www.g2ic.com/forums/showthread.php?t=65580

I had my pass. side done when my clutch was replaced, and it only cost me the price of the part, so it wasnt that much, but I watched them do it and it didnt look to bad, probably have much more luck if you have air tools, that axle bolt is on at 120 or somthing like that ft/lbs…plus rust lol

Shouldnt be to bad though. Good luck however it goes, I would recomend against a shop, just because I hate them but then again there probably better in Canada…

Any idea how rusted your car is? I had to remove my axles to get my tranny out to do the clutch, and neither lower ball joint would seperate from the LCA. I ended up removign the inner LCA bolt on the right side, and never removed the left side axle or intermediate shaft.

cv axle is a joke! (mind you with having 5 different hondas over the years you get used to working on them)
here’s your step-by-step

1 - remove hubcap (steelies) or centre cap (alloys)
2 - using a small cold chisel, hit out the indent on the 1-3/4" retaining nut
3 - loosen the not, but don’t take completely off
4 - loosen your lugs
5 - raise car, remove wheel. (trust me, loosen what ya can on the ground otherwise you’ll be cursing for a few unless you have air tools)
6 - remove cotter pin and remove nut from lower ball joint
7 - sepate the hub assembly from the lower control arm.
8 - remove 1-3/4" nut and swing hub assebly off to the side