Whats wrong with my brakes?

I have to step real hard on the brakes to slow down… a few days ago it was fine, but today the brakes just seem really loose. :shrug:
whats wrong, where to fix, and about how much? thanks guys i’m really a noob at this :open_mouth:

you mighta just got an air pocket in the line some where, try bleeding them that might help

Explaine! Loose like they are falling apart. Loose as in the car dont stop nomore. How does it feel when you hit the pedal…

Check brake fluid.If its good,check for leaks.If no leaks.Check pads and make sure they are in spec…If all is good its prolly the master cylnder.My $.02

“brakes feel loose” as in i gotta floor the brake to feel pressure… a week ago, when i pressed the brake lightly, i can feel resistance, but now i gotta push the brake all the way in… argg!

Sounds like you’re poorly describing a bad master cylinder. What do I know though? I don’t understand code.

edit

i just did a search for “master cylinder” and i think i DO have a bad m.c … so any ways to fix this besides replacing the whole thing?

:idea:

This is probably the best method for diagnosing your problem. I’d bleed the lines between checking for leaks and checking pads though.

More than likely it’s the MC, but if it’s the cheaper problems, you’ll kick your self later if you don’t find out until after you paid for a new MC.

Nope, well if there is, I donn’t think anyone would recommend it. The problem in the MC is the seal/plunger in there is bad, allowing fluid to ‘flow’ by instead of being trapped on one side. Pressing the brakes to the floor when the MC is going out can cause damage to internal parts, so it’s best to replace the whole MC.

It could be two things mc or air in the lines…