Clutch is toast.. how difficult/how much time to replace?

So my clutch is toast. I got my original replaced about 2 years ago and I guess hard driving has taken its toll on the replacement one. My car is still driveable at this point but I’m smelling clutch more and more often and feeling it slip more and more often. My usual mechanic has quoted a little over $900 for parts and labor on a replacement; they also had a worker recommend a performace/non-OEM clutch of some sort for my car in hopes that it could withstand more wear.

I’ve searched and found that most people here recommend exedy organic. Found it online (08-800-A) for about $250 @ Clutch City Online (anyone got any place cheaper)?

My question is… how much time/difficulty is involved in the install of a clutch? I’m not a complete mechanical noob but I’m certainly not up to the level of like performing swaps and the like. I’ve done bolt-ons… installed shock/springs, replaced oil pan gasket (so I’m familiar with the side of the tranny :D), valve cover gasket, and stuff associated with those… basically the removal of parts and straight swap with replacement parts… nothing using precision or specialty tools.

How difficult would it be for someone with this kind of experience to replace the clutch? How much time should one expect it to take? Are their any specialty tools necessary? I’d really like to save the ~$700 labor at my mechanics if possible, but I’d hate to get in a situation where I’m left with a disassembled transmission or reinstalled clutch but can’t get the axles back in, and have to tow my car to the mechanics to get them to finish the job, or something like that. Can anyone give their suggestion/recommendations on doing this?

…or, anyone clutch-experienced in the Bay Area wanna help a guy out? :cool: