Big B16 problems

Somebody help me please. I just found out that I got some big problems with my teg. I have a 92 GS with a B16A swap that was done by the previous owner. I now have some big problems, my mechanic says it’s either the head gasket, the valve seals or the piston rings. I dont know what to do as I am a bit of a noob to the Honda game. How much is a B16 rebuild? Will that work? My mechanic said that my best bet is to swap back to a B18. Is that true? I love that VTEC man. Someone please help me out.

Err… the problem is what?

ls is never the right choice. you have low compression from the sound of it. have your mechanic do a leakdown test, then fix it. answer a few questions for us.

1. how much does your car smoke?
  2. what color is the smoke?
  3. does it smoke all the time, or only in vtec?

What if it only smokes in VTEC? I have this problem, I’ve heard it’s a common thing… but it’s pretty annoying.

Basically, the car smokes all the time. It smokes like crazy, to the point I can’t tell if anybody is behind me. It’s white smoke too. I don’t really know if a compression test was done. I guess that wll be first thing on my agenda.

White smoke = blown headgasket most likely.

Take off your radiator cap, and see what your coolant looks like.

If its dirty, or has brown crap in it, or foamy or bubbly, then its almost definitely a blown head.

listen to this guy. thick white smoke that gags you is blown head gasket. most of the time your antifreeze will be the wrong color too.
fix the problem now. do the timing belt and water pump while your t-belt is off too.
list of crap to do…use all oem honda shit:
-b16 headgasket.
-vtec valvecover gasket.
-b16 timing belt.
-vtec water pump.
then if you got extra money, have your head milled and get a valve job with gsr cams and fresh seals. that way you gain a couple horse out of this whole thing. :smiley: